banner

Go Back   CarClubTalk.com > Auto Purchase and Sale > Auctions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2004, 11:57 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Default Car history needed, can you help? Is this a legit car to buy?

Im thinking of buying a car from owner with this Vin number JNRDR09X51W200930I want to make sure that it is not stolen or has not been totaled before. Can anyone confirm this for me?The owner just seems slightly shady, wants the transaction done through ebay. we live in IL but he says car needs to be shipped from Utah. Also says he is selling it cheep cuz his son is sick and he needs cash. Wants me to pay in advance with ebay and then i have 2 days to test drive. if im not happy, he will reimburse. Its a 2001 Infiniti QX4 Luxury, 65000 miles, and he is asking for 3000. Is this a 'too good to be true' situation? I know nothing about cars... and I as my husband and i are expecting our first baby, and both of us are unemployed, i dont want to spend our last pennies on something that is illegal or will bite us in the butt. Please Help.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2004, 01:49 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Default Car history needed, can you help? Is this a legit car to buy?

Bad idea. YOu guys are taking way too much risk; that car is not right at that price no matter what carfax says
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2004, 03:40 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 27
Default Car history needed, can you help? Is this a legit car to buy?

Go to carfax.com type in the serial number and if they have a record they will charge you $9-$15 to provide you with that car's history.It's a very good serviceTest drive before you buy not the other way around, this sounds like a shady deal, but carfx will know about the car and sometimes even know if it is stolen. You'll get an owner history. Probably he is trying to cheat you ,though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2004, 05:32 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default Car history needed, can you help? Is this a legit car to buy?

skip that deal and spend your money on new car.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2004, 07:24 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Default Car history needed, can you help? Is this a legit car to buy?

Instead of a car you two need jobs! Also, don't buy a car off ebay in another state. What part of that sounds like a good idea to you? Add in "pay first and see the car later" and "I promise I'll reimburse you if you don't like it" and it sounds like a sucker's deal. Don't be a sucker. Once he has your money he doesn't have to give it back.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2004, 09:15 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Default Car history needed, can you help? Is this a legit car to buy?

RUN, do not walk, into the night screaming! This is a HORRIBLE situation. There are many places too close to home for this guy to need to sell this car "out of state" if he needs the cash fast. I've seen this scam before! Turn him in!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2004, 11:07 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Default Car history needed, can you help? Is this a legit car to buy?

Are you crazy? A little intelligence is all it takes to understand this is a total scam.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2004, 12:58 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Default Car history needed, can you help? Is this a legit car to buy?

I ran the VIN for you this is what came back on it. Please note I withheld the personal information.VIN 'JNRDR09X51W200930' identified as:2001 Infiniti QX4 4-Door Sport UtilityDrivetrain: Two Wheel DriveTransmission: 4-Speed Automatic Engine: V6 3.5L 3500cc FI GAS VINThe next report came back as:Was reported reposessed by XXXXXXXXXXX 05/2007.You can e-mail me for the stuff I wil not post here. I WOULD NOT buy this unit!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2004, 02:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default Car history needed, can you help? Is this a legit car to buy?

1. CONTACT THE DMV IN YOUR HOMETOWN AND SEE WHAT THEY CAN TELL YOU FROM THE VIN.2. CALL THE VEHICLES MANUFACTURER AND GIVE THEM THE VIN AND SEE WHAT THEY WILL TELL YOU.3. BUYING A VEHICLE OFF EBAY THAT IS NOT FROM YOUR STATE IS ALWAYS A BAD IDEA.4. YOU PAY FIRST AND THEN CHECK LATER DOESN'T FLY.5. IT SOUNDS JUST LIKE A SCAM.6. DON'T BUY IT.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Ad Management by RedTyger
A vBSkinworks Design